Link posts: Valuable or just noise….

Monday thru Friday, when not on vacation or traveling or such, I post my Interesting Information Security

Watching Static

Bits posts. I have two questions regarding these posts:

1) Are they of value to you or are they just noise?

2) If they are of value, are my comments helpful or would you just as soon just get the links?

I would much appreciate everybody’s feedback. Leave it in the comments.

Kevin

4 Responses to Link posts: Valuable or just noise….

  1. Zach says:

    “bits ‘o info” (including news snippets, interesting stories posted elsewhere, and even collected links) are quite useful. They give you an idea of something you may not have otherwise come across. Sure, there’s StumbleUpon, del.icio.us, and the like (for the *social* aspect), but you get a good feel for what the poster is thinking or looking for during that time period (when on a blog), especially since the posted items are typically related in some way. Moreover, comments can provide even more insight about what the poster or blog owner thinks and maybe make the reader say, “A-ha! I wouldn’t have thought of that”.

    The succinct answer? Your “Interesting Information Security Bits” are valuable and interesting. I say keep ’em.

  2. Kees Leune says:

    As a blogger I like sites such as yours. When I make it to the posts, I know that I was addressing a topic you find interesting, and hopefully other readers do to.

  3. CG says:

    I like them but i wish you’d pull in links outside of the Security Blogger’s Network. I think that would add more value.

    -CG

  4. Kevin Riggins says:

    @Zach Thanks for affirming that I am accomplishing what I intended with these types of posts.

    @Kees I hadn’t really thought of that facet of these posts. Glad they help.

    @CG I here what you are saying. I have 211 feeds that I classify as security related. It just works out that the most prolific posters tend to be in the security bloggers network. Thanks for the feedback. To date, I have really only been pointing to things I come across on blogs. I plan to extend that soon. Maybe that will be helpful.

    Kevin

